Posted on

Owen Wright Memorial Trophy

The Owen Wright Memorial trophy is awarded annually to a person who has made a significant contribution to the joinery industry.  The annual presentation of the trophy reminds Master Joiners of the meaningful value of the trophy.

Nominations are presented to the Executive Committee in March of each year. Members wishing to nominate an individual for the Owen Wright Memorial Trophy, members are invited to contact their regional President or

About Owen.

Owen Wright, while President of Canterbury JMA, was tragically killed in the 22 February 2011 Canterbury earthquake.

After helping many people traverse the track over the hills to Lyttelton, Owen was almost within sight of his own home and family in Lyttelton, when an aftershock hit and he was crushed by dislodged boulders.

The Owen Wright Memorial Trophy signifies Owen’s much valued and wise contributions to the joinery industry.

In his memory, this sculpture is presented annually at the Master Joiner Awards Dinner to a person who has made a significant contribution to the New Zealand joinery industry. The names of those awarded the trophy are recorded on the base of the trophy.

The trophy carved by Llewelyn Summers is fitting tribute to our friend and colleague. Llew is Owen’s uncle and is a renowned Christchurch-based nationally acclaimed sculptor.

Owen had a collection of native timbers in his joinery workshop, collected from family homes and other places significant to his life. His uncle Llew found a piece of Matai and meticulously carved this stylised wing.

Previous recipients of the Owen Wright Memorial Trophy 

  • Ken Monk – 2012
  • Corinne Moore – 2013
  • Deb Paul – 2014
  • Gary Turner – 2015
  • Garry McNaughton – 2016
  • Peter Leith – 2017
  • Andrew Bellamy – 2018
  • Liam Wackrow – 2019